Troup County School System Recognizes Countless Student Achievements

At the Troup County School System’s December 2016 Board Meeting, many students and staff were recognized for their recent academic accomplishments.

The LaGrange Chapter from the Daughters of the American Revolution recently sponsored their annual American History Essay contest, with 5th-8th grade students in Troup County participating in the contest. Essay titles focused on “Celebrating America’s National Parks”. First place winners for Troup County Schools included 5th grader, Will Davis, of West Point Elementary School and 8th grade winner, Sydney Flory, of Long Cane Middle School. Ms. Sally Sue Bradley of the LaGrange Daughters of the American Revolution visited each school and presented all winners with their awards.

Ginger Hughes, ESOL (English for Speakers of Other Languages) teacher at Gardner Newman Middle School and her students, Malini Patel and Stephanie Rodas-Lopez, were recognized for recently competing in the Poetry Recitation Competition in Coweta County. Each of these young ladies had to recite two English poems from memory in the category for English Learners. Both students competed well, and each student received an Award of Excellence for her poem recitation.

Dr. Penny Johnson came forward to present the Advanced Placement (AP) Scholars, recognizing AP students for their academic achievements. Many students who were recognized have already graduated high school and are away at college now. However, the members of the Troup County Board didn’t want the students to miss an opportunity to be recognized for their accomplishments, so each student who could not attend the meeting had his/her certificate mailed home.

First, AP Scholars were recognized. AP Scholars are students who have scored three or higher on three or more of their AP Exams.

From Callaway High School, AP Scholars include: John Curtis, Chase Drake, JiSu Lee, Hee-Jeong Park, Grace Summers, and Keegan Woods.

LaGrange High School students include: Christian Bishop, Abigail Brock, Elizabeth Burch, Jenna Conrad, Lillian Degennaro, Luke Elder, Catherine Gurley, Pakeeza Hameed, Iris Hersey, Madison Knighton, Elena Mayfield, Caitlin Morman, Connor Mahan, Seunghwan Lee, Reagan Peters, Hanna Penn, Bailey Painter, Emily Parker, Puja Roy, Alyssa Scott, Emma Kate Shelton, Jacob Vinson, Shelby Warren, Connor Williams, and Tulla White.

Troup High School students include: Amber Arnold, Edwina (Eddy) Basilio, Haryson Blair, Jordan Butler, Christopher Kaplan, Kelsey Luke, Tyler Meadows, and Christopher Newman.

Next, AP Scholars with Honor were recognized. AP Scholars with Honor are students who scored an average of at least a 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, along with scores of 3 or higher on 4 or more of these Exams.

From LaGrange High School, AP Scholars with Honor include: Katherine Bryant, Geunyoung Choi, Devin Jackson, William Rainey, Breanna Roland, Hankaram Song, Gabriella Stribling, Macy Willis.

Troup High School includes: Alan Bailey, Michael Love, and Emily Schoonover.

Following AP Scholars with Honor, AP Scholars with Distinction were recognized. AP Scholars with Distinction are students who scored an average of at least 3.50 on all AP Exams taken, along with scores of 3 or higher on 5 or more of these Exams.

From Callaway High School, AP Scholars with Distinction include: Henry Hetzel, Chae Hee Kim, and Ye-Ji Kim.

LaGrange High School includes: Sara Doerr, Marshall Todd, Samuel Bowie, Ellen Doerr, Jonathan Fagundes, Emily Flowers, William Hunnicutt, Edwin Jennings, Jinyong Jeong, Karan Lakhwani, Erin Lee, Seungju Lee, Mclain Skinner, and Ian Turner.

To round off AP awards, the National AP Scholars were recognized. National AP Scholar awards are granted to students in the United States who receive an average score of at least 4 on all AP Exams taken, along with scores of 4 or higher on 8 or more of these Exams.

From LaGrange High School, National AP Scholars include: Sara Doerr and Marshall Todd.

Along with family and friends, Troup County Board members congratulated all of the students and teachers who recognized for their hard work, encouraging them to continue representing the Troup County School System so well.


Peyton Hanners Staff Writer