Chamber Announces Leadership Troup Class of 2018

The LaGrange/Troup County Chamber of Commerce announced at Tuesday’s Early Bird Breakfast the names of 31 community members who will participate in the 2017-18 Leadership Troup program.

Sponsored by the chamber and presented by Jindal Films, Leadership Troup has educated local professionals about the issues and concerns of the community since 1991. The program spans ten months and includes leadership modules created by The J.W. Fanning Institute for Leadership Development – a public service and outreach unit of the University of Georgia.

“Enter the program with a curiosity and willingness to learn,” Chamber board chair John Asbell told the class during their orientation session. “You will be surprised by the depth of learning and engagement throughout the program. The relationships you develop with classmates, and others across the community, will prepare each of you to make a difference.”

This will be the third year of an enhanced program developed in conjunction with the Georgia LEADS program of the Georgia Chamber of Commerce and the University of Georgia’s Fanning Institute, whose mission is to grow quality leaders across the state.

The program begins with an overnight retreat and will convene for seven more sessions through May 2018. Participants will focus on local government, health care, education, tourism and more while also learning new perspectives on leadership from Fanning faculty.

This year’s participants are: Kim Banks, Renasant Bank; Tony Bailey, City of West Point; LaSwann Beasley, Twin Cedars; CJ Carter, Kimble’s Food by Design; Chad Cooper, La- Grange Housing Authority; Kara Cooper, Blackwell’s; Ameia Cotton, Individual; Julia Cox-Pearson, Well-Star West Georgia Medical Center; Steve Cromer, West Georgia Technical College; Becca Eiland, Sweetland Amphitheatre; Kellie Farrell, Harmony House; Joshua Harrelson, Point University; Teara Harris, Seoyon E Hwa Interior Systems Manufacturing; Bethany Headrick, Hillside Montessori; Connie Hensler, American Red Cross; Arch Hodges, Coldwell Banker Spinks Brown Durand Realtors; James Hobbs, Interface; Regina Ingram, Re/Max Results; Jamey Jackson, JC Malone; Ben Ladd, Emory at LaGrange; Liz Lindemann, Mobis; Aaron Mabon, True North Investments; Tanya Pullie, Duracell; Marc Shook, LaGrange College; Brittany Simmons, Chamber of Commerce & Tourism; Donna Smoot, Kia Motors Manufacturing Georgia, Inc.; Mike Speight, Calumet Bank; Joe Sumner, thINC College & Career Academy; Leigh Threadgill, City of LaGrange; Stephen Watts, Milliken & Company; Kayla Yeargin, Troup County School System.

For more information on leadership programs offered through the Chamber of Commerce, contact LeTisha Smith at 706-8848671 or letisha@lagrangechamber.com.