Posted on

Crews and McCamey Easily Hold Commission Seats

Crews and McCamey Easily Hold Commission Seats
District 5 Comissioner Jimmy McCamey


Tommy Murphy

Staff Writer

Incumbent Patrick Crews won the Republican primary County Commission Chair by a wide margin on Tuesday, earning his third term.

Crews received 75.1 percent of the votes, handily defeating challenger Phil Nations. Nations received 1,897 votes compared to Crews’ 5,727. Crews effectively won the election for Troup County Commission Chairman with the republican primary vote. There is no democrat challenger.

Crews will be rejoined on the Board of Commissioners by Jimmy McCamey, who was again elected to District 5 seat for the second time in just a few months.

McCamey also handily defeated opponent Joe Kirkland to retain the seat previously held by longtime commissioner Richard English.

McCamey received 713 votes, or 82.7 percent of the democratic primary votes, easily beating Kirkland the newcomer, Kirkland, who only received 149 votes.

In November, McCamey defeated former LaGrange City Councilwoman in a special election to fill the unexpired term of Commissioner English.

In other election results, Ellen Wright defeated Fredrick Manley for the democrat primary for State Senate District 29. Wright received 56.3 percent of the vote and will go on to challenge republican Randy Robertson for the state senate seat in November.

Incumbent David Jenkins also won the State House District 136 Republican Primary against challenger Kenneth Murphy. Jenkins received 83 percent of the vote, handily defeating Murphy.

The author of this article can be reached via email at [email protected]

Commission Chairman Patrick Crews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *